Gavin Harrison here!

Hi Gavin!

I've been watching the musikmesse clips on the site here, and I was wondering those tracks will ever be released as playalong tracks. I understand that 19 days is on one of your DVDs.

The reason I ask is that I am studying music at university and the third track in particular would be great to include in my fourth year recital (if I could get the hang of it!).

Cheers.
Ewan.

Fox, based on a previous question

http://www.askgavinharrison.com/articles/138-Do-you-copy-paste-repeated-drum-parts-when-recording-to-save-time

"I do several takes of the same song and pick the best performance."

Hey Gavin, I was wondering if you *always* recorded a track in one take, or sometimes recorded the parts separately, because I find it too frustrating, time consuming and can never get *everything* perfect when recording in one take, so I usually try to record as much as I can in every take, but end up having to link several parts that were recorded separately, I usually cross-fade the parts so they sound as if they came after eachother, but I believe some of the feeling might be lost when recording this way, so, what's your take on it?
Thanks a lot for all the questions you've been answering, all the best.

Fox.

Hi Gavin,

Thanks a lot for your reply. I am really glad that you can spare some of your time for your fans.
I wrote you about Ride cymbal that you use. You told me that you use 1980's K Canadian ride in "19 days" at the concert on your DVD. Can you give my a piece of advice where to buy such a cymbal? Any link would help me.

I´ve got another question: Do you use 20" K ride when recording Porcupine Tree albums at the studio? If so, is it this one?
http://zildjian.com/EN-US/products/productDetail.ad2?catalogID=1009&typeID=9&productID=1415

My very last question: On 31 October 2009 you´re playing with Porcupine tree in Vienna, Austria.It is true? Are you planning anything special for the concert?