More Creative on a Smaller Kit

Although it's true that restricting choices forces creativity, exercising voices choice, is in itself, a creative move. It's how it's presented within the music that matters, not the mechanism employed to do so. There's an air of snobbery surrounding this subject (intentional or otherwise) that I find deeply unattractive.[/QUOTE]

I have also felt this "attitude" every time this topic comes up. I started playing on a four piece in the '60's and have gone up to as much as 8-9 piece and everything in between. I have finally settled on a six piece with two up two down and have stayed there for the last 10+ years. It is an individual comfort level thing and one that everyone must decide for themselves.

Once I "matured" as a player, I have never felt that one set up was more creative than another. For the life of me I don't understand why it has to be an either/or proposition. My experience is that it is just different creativity, not more or less!

I'll ask Terry Bozzio when I go to see him next month. He seems to be a creative guy.

and what's up with using two drumsticks. You have to be more creative if you just use one.

Every so often a big-kit drummer posts how they tried playing on a smaller kit and felt more creative while doing it. The general consensus is that the size of the kit caused the creativity. I think that misses a more general observation. This drummer is playing on a substantially different kit than what he or she is used to. Give the guy with fly swatters and a cardboard box a four piece, and he'll feel the same way.
YES